Review

Review: The Way Back Home

The Way Back Home
The Way Back Home by Allan Stratton

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This review may contain some spoilers.

The Way Back Home tells the story of Zoe Bird, an angry, rude and sarcastic teenager, who I ironically fell in love with from the very first page. Usually I find annoying and self-absorbed teenagers… well, annoying and self-absorbed, and I have limited patience for their view of the world. However, something about Zoe captivated me. At one point in the novel, she asks her Granny: ‘why do you love me? Why would anyone love me?’ If you’re finding Zoe to be an unlikeable heroine, I would suggest attempting to see her through her grandmother’s eyes: someone who is ‘good, and kind, and loyal’ with the ‘biggest heart in the world.’ Behind all her poor behaviour and reckless decisions, I believe that is exactly who she is.

This relationship between Zoe and her Granny is at the heart of the book. It’s the reason why I loved it so much. The love they had for each other really resonated with me, and I believe it will resonate with anyone who has loved and lost a grandmother.

(Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

