Review

Review: Archie of Outlandish

Archie of Outlandish
Archie of Outlandish by Lynnette Kraft

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have never read anything like this book before.

It tells the story of Archibald Plumbly, a twenty-year-old writer, who lives with his parents in an idyllic town on the Californian coast. He spends most of his life under an umbrella, as any attempt to look upward sends him into a panic. Instead of viewing this as a limitation, however, Archie accepts it as part of himself and not as something he needs to fix or change.

The message of self-acceptance is one of the many things I loved about this book. In essence, it’s a love story, but it’s also about family and friendship. It’s about finding your passion and having the courage to see it through. It’s perhaps the sweetest book I’ve ever read.

The overall experience is enhanced by the beautiful illustrations, and the soundtrack which is available free of charge. I listened on Spotify.

Overall, I had no idea what to expect from this book, but I’m so glad I found it. If you want something light, funny, clever and magical, then this one’s for you.

(Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.)
View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

