Review

Review: Little Lies

Little Lies
Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow.

I downloaded this book onto my Kindle on a whim. I hadn’t read any reviews. I was oblivious to any hype surrounding it. I was mildly aware that it was in the midst of being adapted for television, but I only gleaned this information from the cover. I stayed clear of any trailers or promos that would influence my own interpretation of the characters.

I wasn’t expecting much, but I ended up being blown away by how much I liked it. It’s one of those rare books that had me laughing out loud. The subject matter (murder and domestic violence) doesn’t exactly lend itself to hilarity, but the author has written the humour in such a way that it doesn’t undermine the seriousness of what is happening.

I especially liked how the lives of the three main characters intertwined and intercepted each other, how small insignificant details became significant, how everything began to make sense and finally came together to a satisfying end. It was as if a camera was focused in on one small area and slowly zoomed out until you could see the whole picture. I never felt that the coincidences were too ‘neat’ or convenient.

At this stage in my life, I have read hundreds of books and I think this is the first fictional book I have ever read where endometriosis gets a mention. Even though it was just one sentence, I was ridiculously happy about it. A female character, the exact same age as me, had suffered in the exact same way as me.

The best thing about this book is that it made me feel less alone.

And isn’t that why we’re reading anyway?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

